SOLD!

19 Aug

This is my first post in a series I’m calling, ‘You know you’re getting old when…”

I traveled home last weekend because my parents sold the home I grew up in.  They put the house on the market a few months ago so they could live in a home that would make their lives more convenient as they get older.  That’s perfectly understandable.  I was expecting that this might happen one day and now that I have my own home and my own family the thought of my parents living in a different home shouldn’t bother me, right? Well, the house sold fairly quickly and when it did, I got a call from my dad and he said, “Ok, Mel…come home and get your junk.”

When I arrived home, I was greeted by trash bags and storage bins in place of the hugs and “how are ya’s?” that I am normally greeted with when I walk in the door. It was an odd feeling to say the least.  That first night I was home I sat back and let the nostalgia kick in.  I visited every part of the house remembering birthdays and pool parties, I sat on the swing set that my dad and brothers built for me and I thumbed through old prom dresses and notes from high school. I won’t bore you with all the memories but I can tell you I was very surprised to discover that even though I haven’t lived home in many, many, years — I realized that not being able to come home to that house ever again would officially close the book on my childhood.   I’m not sure if you’ve ever been in the same situation but it’s just not as emotionally uneventful as I thought it would be.

The next morning, in between reading old school papers and laughing at old photos, I managed to fit the first few decades of my life into 1 storage bin. Here are a few random photos from my journey down memory lane (I doctored them up tad to add a little extra drama.)

                                              

My lucky tap shoes – served me for 10 years of tapping

How could I throw out cool music?

High School Senior Photo

Not sure where the Hot Wheels came from but I’m sure I kept it for a reason

Bubbles! I’ll use these one day.

Love letters from college

My superhero caricature

A drawing by yours truly, illustrating all the things I needed to survive for a month as a 9 year old

Okay, your turn! I encourage you to share your photos of old junk and stories about when your parents sold their home.

2 Responses to “SOLD!”

  1. Sarah August 20, 2010 at 7:41 am #

    LOVED IT! You are too cute… and I especially liked the “All Melanie needs to survive” with the qualification “For one month.” Reminds me of all of our grand plans to run away- and survive off of 2 peanut butter and jelly sandwiches and a pair of pajamas. Your plan was apparently more well thought out!

    Love you.

  2. nicoleshoe August 23, 2010 at 11:21 am #

    i LOVE the tap shoes. i def had a white pair as a kid when we danced to ‘living in america’ the james brown version 🙂

Leave a comment